Sweden Permits Entry for Vaccinated Salvadorans, Bans Travellers From Jordan

Starting from December 14, next Tuesday, fully vaccinated travellers from El Salvador will be eligible to enter Sweden without being subject to entry restrictions like COVID-19 testing and quarantine, even for non-essential purposes like tourism.

The decision has been taken by the Swedish government today, after the same introduced amendments to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden.

Sweden’s Ministry of Justice notes in a press release that the move to permit restriction-free entry for Salvadorans follows a decision of the European Commission to recognize vaccination certificates issued by this country as equal to those issued by the EU Member States.

According to a European Commission decision, vaccination certificates issued in El Salvador are to be considered as equivalent to the EU Digital COVID certificate, which means that such certificates can be checked and verified in the same manner and using the same technical systems as the EU Digital COVID Certificate,” the Ministry explains.

So far, Sweden recognizes the certificates issued by the following countries and thus permits restrictions-free entry for their holders: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, El Salvador, the Faroe Islands, Georgia, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Israel, Jersey, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Togo, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, the United States or the Vatican City.

At the same time, Sweden has removed Jordan from its list of epidemiologically safe third countries. This means that travellers from Jordan can no longer enter the country, except for absolutely essential purposes.

This decision has also been taken in accordance with a recommendation of the EU Council regarding travel into the EU from third countries, based on information from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

>> EU Removes Jordan & Namibia From Its COVID-19 List of Safe Countries for Travel

In practice, this means that the entry ban will be reintroduced for people residing in Jordan. However, other exemptions from the entry ban will continue to apply to people who reside in Jordan,” the Ministry notes.

Exempt from the entry ban EEA and Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland or the Vatican City citizens, those who have long-term resident status in Sweden or another EU Member State, those who have a Swedish residence permit or one issued by another EEA state, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland or the Vatican City, as well as those who have a national visa for Sweden or a national visa in another EEA State, Switzerland and the European microstates, valid longer than three months.

Similarly, exempt are those reaching the country for essential purposes as people with important family reasons, those in transit, frontier workers, students, transport sector staff, seasonal workers in forestry, agricultural and horticulture sectors, healthcare workers, etc.

>> Travelling to Sweden: Current Rules & Restrictions Imposed Due to COVID-19

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *