PM Shehbaz Sharif’s 37-member cabinet takes oath – Pakistan

Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani has administered the oath to federal ministers and ministers of state, who will type the cupboard of newly elected Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

The oath-taking ceremony started with the recitation of the Holy Quran.

Thirty-one federal ministers and three ministers of state took the oath.

Federal ministers

  • Khawaja Muhammad Asif (PML-N)
  • Ahsan Iqbal (PML-N)
  • Rana Sanaullah (PML-N)
  • Sardar Ayaz Sadiq (PML-N)
  • Rana Tanveer Hussain (PML-N)
  • Khurram Dastgir Khan (PML-N)
  • Marriyum Aurangzeb (PML-N)
  • Khawaja Saad Rafique (PML-N)
  • Miftah Ismail (PML-N)
  • Javed Latif (PML-N)
  • Riaz Hussain Pirzada (PML-N)
  • Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N)
  • Azam Nazeer Tarar (PML-N)
  • Syed Khursheed Shah (PPP)
  • Syed Naveed Qamar (PPP)
  • Sherry Rehman (PPP)
  • Abdul Qadir Patel (PPP)
  • Shazia Marri (PPP)
  • Syed Murtaza Mahmud (PPP)
  • Sajid Hussain Turi (PPP)
  • Ehsan Ur Rehman Mazari (PPP)
  • Abid Hussain (PPP)
  • Asad Mahmood (MMA)
  • Abdul Wasay (MMA)
  • Abdul Shakoor (MMA)
  • Muhammad Talha Mahmood (JUI)
  • Aminul Haque (MQM-P)
  • Faisal Sabzwari (MQM-P)
  • Muhammad Israr Tareen (BAP)
  • Shahzain Bugti (JWP)
  • Tariq Bashir Cheema (PML-Q)

Ministers of state

  • Aisha Ghaus Pasha (PML-N)
  • Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju (PML-N)
  • Hina Rabbani Khar (PPP)

Advisers to the PM

  • Qamar Zaman Kaira (PPP)
  • Amir Muqam (PML-N)
  • Awn Chaudhry (PTI’s Tareen group)

According to a press release issued by the President House, PML-N’s Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Khurram Dastgir Khan, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Miftah Ismail, Javed Latif, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Murtaza Javed Abbasi and Azam Nazeer Tarar took the oath as federal ministers.

From the PPP, Syed Khursheed Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar, Sherry Rehman, Abdul Qadir Patel, Shazia Marri, Syed Murtaza Mahmud, Sajid Hussain Turi, Ehsan Ur Rehman Mazari and Abid Hussain took the oath as federal ministers.

Asad Mahmood, Abdul Wasay and Abdul Shakoor of the Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Pakistan Senator Muhammad Talha Mahmood, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s Aminul Haque and Faisal Sabzwari, Balochistan Awami Party’s Muhammad Israr Tareen, Jamhoori Watan Party’s Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid’s Tariq Bashir Cheema are additionally among the many newly appointed federal ministers.

Meanwhile, PML-N’s Aisha Ghaus Pasha and Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, in addition to PPP’s Hina Rabbani Khar, have been administered the oath as ministers of state.

Moreover, PPP’s Qamar Zaman Kaira, PML-N’s Amir Muqam and Awn Chaudhry from Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s estranged Jahangir Tareen group have been appointed as advisers to the prime minister.

The ceremony was scheduled to be held on Monday, however it transpired that President Arif Alvi had refused to manage the oath to the lawmakers, compelling the federal government to postpone the ceremony to Tuesday (at this time).

Earlier, a Dawn report, citing sources, had mentioned President Arif Alvi was anticipated to go on depart on Tuesday over reported sickness in order that Sanjrani might administer the oath. Previously, the president had additionally excused himself to manage the oath to Sharif on well being grounds after which Sanjrani had taken over the duty.

Meanwhile, at a media briefing on Monday, PML-N’s Marriyum Aurangzeb had mentioned that the listing of cupboard members had but to be finalised, hinting that last-minute adjustments could possibly be made earlier than the oath-taking ceremony.

“The decision has been taken with consensus from all coalition partners,” she had claimed.

Ruling PML-N chief Khawaja Asif, in a non-public TV present final night time, had revealed the names of among the PML-N leaders who have been set to take up ministries within the new cupboard.

According to him, Ahsan Iqbal is more likely to get the Ministry of Planning and Development, Azam Nazir Tarar Law, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Energy, whereas Ayaz Sadiq will get the Ministry of Economic Affairs.

Earlier, studies have been making rounds that Aurangzeb could be given the portfolio of the data ministry whereas Rana Sanaullah will probably be given the reins of the inside ministry regardless of opposition throughout the ruling PML-N, and Miftah Ismail was reportedly being thought of for finance ministry. However, no official announcement has but been made on this regard.

Former defence minister Asif had additionally claimed that PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari could be given the Foreign Ministry. However, a PPP chief informed Dawn that the get together chairman was not becoming a member of the cupboard within the first part being introduced at this time and would possibly go for a ministry after just a few days.

On the opposite hand, some authorities allies are nonetheless mentioned to be “unsatisfied” over the calls for that they had prolonged to the federal government relating to distribution of ministries and different profitable positions.

It has been learnt that the Balochistan National Party (BNP) and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) might not be part of the cupboard on Tuesday, because the BNP has accused the federal government of not stopping violent incidents within the province, such because the latest firing on protesters in Chagai.

Similarly, JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman has demanded immediate basic elections after being irritated over the non-fulfillment of his calls for relating to distribution of ministries and a few constitutional posts just like the places of work of the president and Senate chairman.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.