Norway Now Imposes Stringent Entry Restrictions on Travellers From All EU Member States

Arrivals from the Canary Islands in Spain, Corsica in France, Madeira in Portugal, the Länsi-Pohja region in Finland and the Blekinge, Halland and Värmland regions in Sweden, are no longer permitted to enter the country without undergoing quarantine and testing requirements, the Norwegian authorities announced.

The decision that affects all unvaccinated travellers from these countries enters into force on Monday, November 22, reports.

However, for travellers in the regions of Östra Savolax in Finland and Östergötland in Sweden, the requirements of quarantine and testing requirements will be put to an end as the countries are added to the safe travel list (green category).

The remaining countries and territories in the green category, arrivals of which aren’t subject to any testing of quarantine requirement, include the Swedish regions of Dalarna, Gotland and Jämtland, the Finish region of Åland and Sardinia Island of Italy.

Arrivals from these regions are the only ones who are not subject to stringent entry restrictions.

Moreover, the same entry rules apply to the orange category, which consists of:

  • EU Member States: France, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, San Marino, Spain and Vatican City.
  • Sweden: Östergötland, Jönköping, Kronoberg, Västerbotten and Västernorrland.
  • Finland: Östra Savolax Kajanaland, Lapland, North Karelia, North Savolax, Satakunta, Södra Savolax and Vaasa.
  • EU archipelagos: Azores (Portugal) and Sicily (Italy)

On the other hand, unvaccinated arrivals from the red and dark red countries have to follow more stringent rules, including taking a COVID-19 test at the border on arrival and quarantine, with the chance to end self-isolation three days upon the arrival.

The red category includes the following areas:

  • EU Member States: Cyprus, Luxembourg, Poland, Romania and Switzerland.
  • Sweden: Blekinge, Halland, Värmland, Gävleborg, Kalmar, Norrbotten, Skåne, Stockholm, Södermanland, Uppsala, Västmanland, Västra Götaland and Örebro.
  • Denmark: Central Jutland, North Jutland and Southern Denmark.
  • Finland: Länsi-Pohja, Birkalands, Central Hämeenlinna, Southwest Finland, Helsinki and Uusimaa, Kymmenedalen, Central Finland, Central Ostrobothnia, Northern Ostrobothnia, Päijat-Häme, South Ostrobothnia and Southern Karelia.
  • EU archipelagos: Balearic Islands (Spain), Crete (Greece) and South Aegean Islands (Greece)

Moreover, the dark red category consists of:

  • EU Member States: Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, UK, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria.
  • Denmark: The capital (including Copenhagen) and Zealand.
  • EU archipelagos: Ionian Islands (Greece) and North Aegean Islands (Greece)

The same entry rules apply to the purple category as well, which currently includes Argentina, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Taiwan.

“NIPH assesses which countries and areas on the EU’s third country list have an infection situation that provides a basis for somewhat milder entry rules. These countries and areas are referred to as “purple land”. Requirements are set for the entry quarantine, test and entry registration from the purple country,” the press release explains.

On the other hand, Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Hong Kong, Jordan, China, Macau, Rwanda, South Korea, and Uruguay make the grey category, with arrivals subject to continued entry restrictions and entry quarantine and testing requirements.

The World Health Organisation (WHO) data reveals that in the last 24 hours, five deaths related to COVID-19 and 620 positive cases for the disease were reported in Norway.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *