Norway Makes Pre-Entry Registration & Testing Compulsory for Incoming Travellers

The Norwegian government has joined the long list of European governments imposing stringent entry restrictions amid an increase of Coronavirus cases in its territory and further in the world.

Apart from moving more countries into its red and dark red categories, Norway has also decided to reintroduce the obligation to register before reaching its territory for all travellers, including Norwegians and those vaccinated against COVID-19.

At the same time, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers will have to test before reaching Norway’s territory, the country’s Ministry of Justice has confirmed, reports.

Revealing more details on the move, the Minister of Justice and Emergency Management Emilie Enger Mehl said that the decision on both requirements will become effective next Friday, November 26.

From that date, everyone must register before entering Norway. On the basis of health professional advice, we also reintroduce the requirement for a negative test taken before entry. This applies to anyone who cannot document with an approved Corona certificate that they have been fully vaccinated or that they have undergone COVID-19 in the last six months,” the Minister noted.

She also explained that the requirement to register and test applies to travellers regardless of their country of departure.

Exempt from the requirement to register before entry are only travellers under the age of 16-year-old, as well as some selected categories of travellers.

Whereas exempt from the requirement to test within 24 hours before reaching Norway are all those who hold a Coronavirus certificate proving that they have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved in Norway for travel. Those who have recovered from COVID-19 are also exempt, as well as those under the age of 18.

>> Norway Recognises Only EMA-Approved Vaccines for Travel

At the same time, those who do not hold a vaccination or recovery certificate are also obliged to test upon arrival in Norway, either at the border or within 24 hours of entering the country if there isn’t a testing station at the port of entry. So far, this requirement has been applied only to those coming from countries to which a quarantine obligation applies.

On November 19, reported that Norway would introduce the obligation to quarantine from November 22, for arrivals from Spain’s Canary Island, France’s Corsica, Portugal’s Madeira, Finland’s region of Länsi-Pohja and Sweden’s regions of Blekinge, Halland and Värmland.

Arrivals from the Östra Savolax SVD regions in Finland and Östergötland in Sweden will, on the other hand, be permitted to enter quarantine-free starting from the same date.

>> Travelling to Norway: Current Rules & Restrictions

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *