Norway Introduces Quarantine for Unvaccinated Travellers From France, Monaco, Portugal & Spain

Travellers from France, Monaco, Portugal and Spain, alongside travellers from the region of Norra Savolax SVD in Finland and the regions of Gotland and Västernorrland in Sweden, will have to undergo quarantine upon arrival in Norway, starting from Monday, November 29.

The decision has been announced by the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services in a press release issued on Friday, explaining that these four countries have been removed from the orange category and are now marked as red.

The same notes that quarantine will be applied only to people who do not hold a verifiable Coronavirus certificate.

The entry quarantine only applies to travellers from red, dark red and grey countries (countries and areas outside the EEA / Schengen and the United Kingdom) that do not have a valid, verifiable corona certificate. Children and young people under the age of 18 are exempt from entry quarantine regardless of where they come from,” the press release explains.

It further notes that the period of quarantine can be shortened if the traveller takes a PCR test no earlier than on the third day of isolation, and the same results in negative.

Last week, Norway imposed quarantine for arrivals from the Canary Islands in Spain, Corsica in France, Madeira in Portugal, the Länsi-Pohja region in Finland and the Blekinge, Halland and Värmland regions in Sweden.

As a result, only Italy, Malta, San Marino and Vatican City are now categorized as orange, while the green list remains empty for another week in a row.

Listed as red are also Cyprus and Romania, while the following countries are listed under the dark red category: Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg (changed from red), Netherlands, Poland (changed from red), Slovakia, Slovenia, United Kingdom, Switzerland (changed from red), Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria.

New measures have also been introduced for travellers from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Eswatini and Malawi, upon the detection of a new virus strain in South Africa, now known as the Omicron.

>> EU Tells Member States to Suspend All Travel From Southern African Countries Due to New COVID Variant

Travellers who are eligible to enter Norway from these countries are obliged to test before arrival and on arrival. They are also obliged to quarantine for a period of ten days, the first three days of which should be spent at a quarantine hotel.

In the event of a negative PCR taken after three days, the rest of the quarantine can be carried out in one’s own home or in another suitable place of residence where it is possible to avoid close contact with others, with a private room, own bathroom and own kitchen or food service,” the Norwegian Institute of Public Health notes in a travel advisory.

It also explains that travellers from these countries will be able to shorten quarantine through a negative PCR taken no earlier than on the seventh day of quarantine.

>> Norway to Permit Entry for More Third-Country Travellers From November 26

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *