Norway Introduces Entry Quarantine for More EU Travellers

Travellers from more European Union and Schengen Area countries will face entry quarantine obligations upon arrival in Norway, starting from January 10, 2022.

In a press release issued on Friday, January 7, the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services announced that travellers from seven regions in Finland, four regions in Sweden and the archipelagos of Sardinia and the Azores would be subject to the obligation of quarantine, starting from the following Monday.

The decision has been taken based on COVID-19 rates reported in these areas in the two last weeks of December 2021.

There is now only one country, Romania, which has no requirements for entry quarantine,” the Ministry notes, pointing out that travellers from all other EU and Schengen countries should quarantine upon arrival.

Explaining the rules that apply to these countries, placed on the red, dark red, and grey categories, the Ministry notes that the quarantine requirement does not apply to those who have been ill with COVID-19 in the last six months. At the same time, those vaccinated against COVID-19 are also exempt, as well as those under the age of 18.

Travellers who fall subject to the isolation obligation can shorten this period if they take a PCR test three days after their arrival in Norway, the earliest.

In 2022, Norway will continue to apply restrictions on travel from the Schengen Area and other world countries based on the colour-coded maps by separating countries and regions in four colours: green, orange, red, and dark red.

While for weeks now, no countries have been coloured in green, Romania is the only one in the orange category for another week in a row. At the same time, Bulgaria is the only country in the red category. Differently from Romanians, non-vaccinated and unrecovered Bulgarians have to quarantine upon arrival in Norway.

The dark red category, on the other hand, consists of Andorra, Belgium, Estonia, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Iceland, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, the Vatican City and Austria.

Previously Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, San Marino, Spain and the Vatican City were marked in red. From Monday, they will all be dark red. However, travellers from these countries will not notice any change in travel rules, as Norway applies the same restrictions for travellers from the red and dark red areas.

Similarly, the majority of Nordic regions are categorized as dark red, and only a few remain on the red list.

The last time the lists were reviewed was on December 17 when entry quarantine was introduced for arrivals from Italy’s Sicily, the regions of Kajanaland and Satakunta in Finland, as well as the regions of Dalarna, Jämtland, Jönköping and Södermanland in Sweden.

>> Norway Rescinds Special Entry Restrictions Imposed on 8 Southern African Countries

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *