Lithuania Announces Stricter Travel Rules for All Countries Due to Worsened COVID-19 Situation

Following warnings that the European continent may be hit by another wave of the COVID-19 in the upcoming weeks, the Lithuanian authorities have announced that stricter entry rules will now apply to all incoming travellers.

This announcement has been made since all European Union Member States as well as the other third countries are now placed on Lithuania’s high-risk list, meaning that no area is no longer part of the orange or green category.

On last week’s update, only Malta was part of Lithuania’s green list. However, the Lithuanian Ministry of Health has announced that since the epidemiologic situation has worsened in Malta, starting from Monday, November 22, the latter will be coloured orange.

Except for Malta, through the same update that has been made today, it has been revealed that the Spanish islands of Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria will also be moved from the green list to the yellow one.

Similarly, the Portuguese autonomous region of Madeira and the French Réunion island will move to the red list from Monday, reports.

“From Monday, November 22, the islands of Fuerteventura, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Madeira and Réunion will be moved to the red list of countries affected by coronavirus infection. With Malta moving to the yellow zone, there are no more states in the green zone,” the statement of the Health Ministry reads.

Lithuania currently has a colour-coded system to separate countries into different categories based on their Coronavirus situation, which means that restrictions that travellers need to follow upon entry depend on the category in which their destination country is placed.

Travellers from red-listed countries who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the COVID-19 disease are required to follow a ten-day quarantine requirement when reaching Lithuania.

Except for the self-isolation rule, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers also need to undergo COVID-19 testing. The PCR test result must not be older than 72 hours, whereas the rapid antigen test should be taken within 48 hours before arrival.

On the other hand, the Ministry has clarified that EU travellers who have been vaccinated or recovered from the virus are not required to follow entry rules, such as quarantine.

Earlier today, informed that the EU Health Agency has advised that everyone refrains from travelling to the majority of Member States. Germany, the Netherlands, Greece, Austria, and Czechia are just some of the countries that have been categorised as dark red countries by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

>> Travelling Throughout Europe With an Antigen Test

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *