Italy Imposes Stringent Entry Rules Against Several Third Countries That Now Are Placed on List E

The Italian authorities have announced that the country has removed several countries from its List D, which includes third countries whose citizens are permitted to enter Italy under certain conditions.

Consequently, in line with the newly updated lists of countries that have been published by the Italian Ministry of Health, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao are no longer part of the list.

All these countries now fall under Italy’s List E, which means that travellers from these areas are permitted to enter Italy for essential purposes only provided that they follow strict entry rules, reports.

On the other hand, based on the recent update, Italy’s List D now includes the following third countries:

  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Northern Ireland
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay

Bahrain and Chile were not part of this list, but they have been moved from List E as their epidemiologic situation has slightly improved lately.

>> Travelling to Italy Amid COVID-19: What You Need to Know Before Booking a Trip

Entry Rules for Countries Placed on List D

Based on the current rules that Italy has in place for travellers arriving from third countries placed on List D, everyone is required to fill in a Passenger Locator Form as well as present a Digital COVID-19 Certificate. Other equivalent documents are also accepted as long as they meet the country’s requirements.

Regarding the COVID-19 Certificate, the Italian authorities have emphasised that a vaccination certificate is valid as long as it indicates that the holder has been fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 disease with one of the vaccines that have been approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

In addition, the recovery certificate should prove that not more than 180 days had passed since the last time when the holder was tested positive.

Moreover, except for the two above-mentioned requirements, travellers from these third countries are also required to undergo testing within 72 hours before reaching Italy.

Nonetheless, it has been emphasised that special rules apply to those who have stayed or transited through Northern Ireland and the United Kingdom. Travellers reaching Italy from these two countries are required to present a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 48 hours before arrival instead of 72.

All those who fail to meet any of these requirements must follow quarantine rules. They need to stay self-isolated for five days.

“People who have stayed or passed through, in fourteen days prior to entry into the national territory, in Canada, Japan and the United States of America, they may also exhibit the green COVID-19 certification of successful recovery or the certification issued by the health authorities competent certifying the cure,” the Ministry said, indicating that travellers from the US, Canada, and Japan can enter Italy under the same restrictions as the other third countries.

Previously, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) revealed that Italy is one of the safest countries to travel to amid the COVID-19 as half of its territory is coloured green, and the other half is coloured orange.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.