Germany Tightens Entry Rules for Arrivals From Belgium, Greece, Ireland & Netherlands

Starting from Sunday, November 21, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers from Belgium, Greece, Iceland, and the Netherlands will be required to follow additional entry rules when reaching Germany as these countries have been placed on the latter’s high-risk list.

According to the announcement made by the German body in charge of disease prevention and control, Robert Koch Institute (RKI), the four countries will be categorised as high-risk since they have registered more than 100 positive COVID-19 infection cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the last seven days, reports.

The figures from the World Health Organization (WHO) show that during the last 24 hours, Ireland reported 3,632 new cases during the same period, followed by Greece with 6,653 new cases, and the Netherlands with 20,829 new cases.

While Data from WHO show that Belgium has reported ten new infection cases in the last 24 hours, Worldometers data show that the country has actually recorded more than 16,000 new cases.

Consequently, all persons arriving from these four countries or any other area that is already part of Germany’s high-risk list need to fill in a digital entry form and carry the completion confirmation with them.

Moreover, travellers from Belgium, Ireland, Greece, and the Netherlands must stay self-isolated for ten days upon their arrival in Germany.

However, the authorities have explained that travellers who prove that they have been fully immunised with an accepted vaccine dose can skip the quarantine requirement. Germany recognises five COVID-19 vaccines for travel, including Covishield.

Travellers who hold a certificate that proves that the holder has recovered from the virus during the last six months are also eligible to skip self-isolation.

“Persons aged 12 or over must, as a rule, possess a negative test result or proof of vaccination or recovery when entering the country. The general obligation to furnish proof applies irrespective of the mode of transport or whether the person previously spent time in a high-risk area or area of variants of concern,” the authorities explained.

On the other hand, RKI has removed Costa Rica, Guatemala, Guyana, Suriname, and two French overseas departments – French Guiana and New Caledonia – from the high-risk list. This means that travellers from these areas will no longer be required to follow strict entry rules. Nonetheless, everyone is still required to meet Germany’s entry requirements.

Previously, the German authorities announced that US nationals who haven’t been vaccinated against the COVID-19 yet and those who haven’t recovered from the virus can travel to Germany under facilitated rules. Arrivals from the US are now able to skip self-isolation and multiple testing requirements.

>> Who Can Travel to Germany Amid COVID-19 & What Are the Rules

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.