Estonia Imposes Additional Entry Rules for Unvaccinated Travellers From Portugal, France, Finland & Monaco

Estonia Imposes Additional Entry Rules for Unvaccinated Travellers From Portugal, France, Finland & Monaco

The Estonian authorities have announced that starting from Monday, November 29, Portugal, France, Finland, and Monaco will join the list of countries considered as highly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic as they have identified increased infection cases.

Last week, Portugal, France, Finland, and Monaco were part of the yellow list. However, since the COVID-19 situation has worsened in these areas, they will now be moved to the red list and will be subject to stricter entry rules.

Based on the data from the World Health Organization (WHO), Portugal has reported 18,161 new infection cases in the last seven days. During the same period, France reported 162,391 new cases, Finland reported 6,524 new cases, and Monaco reported 133 new cases.

Therefore, due to increased infection rates, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers who reach the Baltic country from one of these areas will be required to take a COVID-19 test upon entry if they haven’t undergone testing previously, reports.

In addition, everyone who doesn’t hold a valid vaccination or recovery certificate will be required to stay self-isolated for ten days. However, the self-isolation period can be shortened by taking another Coronavirus test after the sixth day of quarantine.

“If a person has a negative test certificate, the test is not required when entering the country. If a person wishes to reduce the self-isolation time, a second test is required no earlier than the sixth day after the test on which the negative test certificate is based,” the Ministry explained.

On the other hand, the same has emphasised that the entry restrictions don’t apply to travellers from red-listed countries who have completed their vaccination process as well as those who have recovered from the virus.

Except for the newly added territories, Estonia’s red list currently also includes all of the following EU/Schengen Area countries:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czechia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

Simultaneously, through the same update, it has been revealed that Spain will be moved from the green to the yellow list.

This means that unvaccinated and unrecovered Spanish citizens are subject to testing rules when entering Estonia. In contrast, vaccinated and unrecovered travellers are exempt from this rule.

Apart from Spain, three other countries – Italy, Malta, and Sweden – are also part of the yellow list.

As for the green list, this category consists of the Vatican City State only. Travellers from this area are permitted restriction-free entry to Estonia, regardless of their vaccination or recovery status.

>> Everything You Need to Know About Travelling to Estonia Amid COVID-19

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *