Cyprus Ends Restriction-Free Entry for Travellers From Denmark & Two Other EU Member States

Unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers from Denmark, the Czech Republic and Norway will no longer be allowed to travel to Cyprus without going into self-isolation upon arrival, as the countries have been added to the red category.

According to the weekly risk assessment published by the Cypriot Ministry of Interior, most EU member states are currently added to the red category, which means that travellers from these countries have to undergo the most stringent entry rules out of all categories, reports.

Nonetheless, entry restrictions don’t apply to travellers who have been fully vaccinated, have recovered from COVID-19 in the last six months and to all holders of the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate or other documents equivalent to it.

“They have been vaccinated either with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen), or with Sputnik V vaccine, or with Sinopharm vaccine (BBIBP COVID-19), or with Sinovac vaccine, and have completed their vaccination scheme,” the authorities explained.

Furthermore, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers from the red category countries have to:

  1. Present a PCR test taken 72 hours before reaching Cyprus and
  2. Perform a PCR test upon arrival while remaining self-isolated until the result is issued

The red category currently consists of:

  • EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Finland
  • Microstates: San Marino
  • Schengen Area: Switzerland, Iceland, Norway
  • Third countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

On the other hand, travellers reaching Cyprus from the orange category countries must present a PCR test taken 72 hours before arrival.

The orange category includes the following countries:

  • EU Member States: France, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Sweden
  • Microstates: Andorra, Monaco
  • Schengen Area: Lichtenstein
  • Third countries: Australia, Japan, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Bahrein, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

Furthermore, the green category arrivals are exempted from quarantine and testing requirement and, at present, includes these countries:

  • EU Member States: Italy, Malta
  • Microstates: Vatican City
  • Third countries: United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia

The World Health Organisation (WHO) data shows that 112 people have been recently infected with COVID-19 in Cyprus, taking the number of infections recorded in the country since 2020 to 124,444. Moreover, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) shows that 81.5 per cent of the adult population in the country is vaccinated with the first shot, whereas 79.3 per cent is fully vaccinated.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.